Sunday, January 30, 2011

That time I thought of Eric Johnson's sweet guitar skills that is "White Cliffs of Dover"...

and also of playing guitar hero with Travis. Miss you bud!

So on Wednesday the 26th we set out on another adventure via the coach. We left early, as always, to Dover.

In my history class we had been talking about the legacies of the medieval times and one of them is castles. So, we were going to go see Dover castle. After relatively short bus ride though we got to the castle only to find that it was closed. Yeah, the reason we made this trip was to see this castle. Kinda made me laugh. My favorite line from one the kids here to our professor, "Nice planning, Eric." hahaha. Good stuff. Anyway, the outside of the castle was pretty cool. We then stopped at the beach in order to see those famous white cliffs. Since it was a very cloudy and rainy day the cliffs didn't stand out as much as they probably would have. Sad. But, it was still neat to see the beautiful tall cliffs and the cold English Channel. The water reminded me of No. California beaches. Also, the beach was rocks. Also like No. Cali.
Me in front of the White Cliffs of Dover and the English Channel
what the beach rocks looked like at the English Channel.
After leaving Dover we went to Canterbury and stopped at the famous Cathedral there. It's mainly famous because it used to be a place where many made pilgrimages and what Canterbury tales is mainly about--their pilgrimage to Canterbury. This pilgrimage is to see the place where Thomas Beckett (an archbishop of Canterbury) was murdered. He became a saint soon after his martyrdom. You should read up on it. Pretty interesting. We watched this movie to learn more: "Beckett". Perfect 60s movie. The guy who played Henry II (who ordered Beckett to be killed) was probably the most dramatic person I've ever watched in a movie. It was kinda ridiculous. Not gonna lie. But, it portrayed the story well, I suppose. Otherwise our professors wouldn't have shown it to us... I think. Haha.

Canterbury Cathedral
 Anyway, Canterbury cathedral was pretty. Since we had been to a lot of cathedrals now our professors didn't get us a tour guide. I was able to wander around and just take my time and just admire the architecture. The stained glass was beautiful and I loved all the carvings in there. Something that I found funny was the organ that was playing. It was awful. They played one note at a time and each note was held for probably about 5 minutes... and it was all the high notes, kinda like the ones only dogs can hear. Haha. Yeah great stuff. Anyway, Canterbury was good but I was glad to be home here in London at the end of the day!

Also I got a super cute coat. It's bright red. And I love it.

Oh being sick

I have not been feeling too great the past few days. So, I haven't done anything really. But, I'm going to the doctor either tomorrow or Tuesday. So we'll see what happens.

Saturday, January 29, 2011

SPENCER!!

I got to see SPENCER!!

Everyone  be excited with me :)

Because you all should be! He's seriously like my brother... and I haven't seen him since... April I believe.

On Monday we met up at the Victoria Tube station. I waited by the Circle and District line exit for 30 minutes and him and his companion, Elder AJ, were waiting for me at the Victoria line exit for 30 minutes. Yeah. It was pretty awesome. Haha. But we finally met up and went to DINNER at...

NANDOS.

yum.

Anyway, I miss Spencer and it was so good to see him and see how good he is doing! He is enjoying his mission so much, growing a lot and is still as awesome as ever... and still as wise and strong in the gospel as ever. He's such a gem! I love that kid.

notice our awkward pose since we can't hug. When we said goodbye we didn't shake hands we gave each other a high five... or as Jana would say, "a hand five". haha.

Penny Lane is in my ears and in my eyes...

So. I can't believe I still haven't written about my trip up North. What's my deal, seriously? Sorry guys.

My trip up North was very wonderful! 

The 20th of January we set out from our flat in London super early on our coach.We even had the same coach driver. He's pretty awesome. Anyway, we drove for quite a few hours and stopped at a rest stop. I think there's some law here that coach drivers have to take an hour long break every so often. Anyway, the rest stop here was awesome. It was like a mall food court. And there was even a tiny grocery store in it. A lot more fancy than the rest stops back in the states, that's for sure. After our break we got back onto the coach and kept driving for quite a ways. We stopped just outside of York. It was gorgeous, and so green... but cold. Haha. Very cold. I guess that's why it's called the North, right? Well, besides the fact that it's North of London. Anyway, just outside of York is some ruins of an old Abbey. It's called Fountains Abbey. It is gorgeous and I think one of my favorite things that I've done here thus far. The abbey used to be filled with Cistercian monks. These monks not only took the normal vows that monks do, but they also took vows of silence. They were kinda like the super monks of monks... if that makes sense. Anyway, after Henry VIII came to the crown and changed the official religion of England from Catholicism to the Anglican church, monastery life was condoned. Therefore, places like this abbey were abandoned. So, the abbey is now just ruins and crumbling walls. It is still so majestic and gorgeous, though. I loved that we were actually able to go inside the ruins and walk around touching the rocks and everything. I think that's one of the reasons why I enjoyed it so much. Anyway, I got a ton of gorgeous pictures from this abbey:

Fountains Abbey. For more pictures check out my facebook!
After exploring the abbey (I wish we could've stayed much longer) we got back onto our coach to head into York for the night. Once we got into York, around 5:30 pm, we checked into our small hotel rooms. I was with my bunkmate Jaynann and one of our other roommates, Katie. We got a bigger room since we had 3 people instead of the 2 that everyone else had. Anyway, after dropping off our things we went to hit the town. Unfortunately, everything in York closes at about 5:30 or 6. So, yes, everything was closed. Pretty awesome. We did get to go to this really good place called Oscars. I got some good food there. After a group of us ate we started looking to see if anything was open. Nope. No luck. It was actually kinda creepy that everything was closed and no one was out. Seriously. It was only like 6 pm. Haha. And we had heard the York is one of the most 'haunted' places in the UK. Or maybe it's Europe. I don't know. But it's supposed to be haunted. So, we decided to give up the hunt for entertainment since it was bitter cold, stopped at Tesco for some good chocolate and then we headed back to our hotel. I had "The Blindside" on my iPod, so about 10 girls came to our small room and we watched that movie via my computer/iPod. It was fun. And cramped. But mostly fun.

The next day we woke up early to walk the old Roman wall of York and to go to Yorkminster, the very old Cathedral. York used to be an old Roman town, and also old Viking land. I think it was even the capital of the Viking 'Dane law' back when the Vikings had control over the Northern part of the island. Walking the wall was cool just because it's so old. The Yorkminster Cathedral was gorgeous. It's one of the few Cathedrals that actually has some of it's original stained glass. The glass dates back to the 12th century I believe. Pretty cool. Also, in the chapter house of the cathedral there's a seat where Edward Longshanks used to sit. For those of you who don't know (and I didn't), he was the King that reigned during all the problems that England had with the Picts (the Scots) and he is the old king in the movie "Braveheart". Anyway, I thought it was cool hearing about him since I have so much Scottish heritage and I'm related to Rob Roy. Pretty cool. My tour guide's name was Geoff. He was awesome with all his red-headed glory. I always find it amazing how much history and knowledge our tour guides have.

After York we got back on the bus to head to Preston where we had a church history tour. Preston=freezing cold. Seriously. We got to walk around the city/town for a few hours and freeze but we got to see some cool things. We saw the town centre where President Hinckley preached from when he was a missionary there and we also got to hear about the first missionaries that came to England, because that's where they first came. We were able to see the Ribble river where the first baptisms in England happened, as well. It was a very beautiful setting and neat to see the heritage there. Especially since a lot of my ancestors came from England, Scotland and all over from that area. On the way out of Preston we stopped at the Preston LDS temple right around sunset. I got some gorgeous pictures of the sunset since we had been lucky and blessed with clear, sunny skies for the past few days. The temple was so pretty and we even got to see the Preston MTC where Megan, Tom and Spencer spent their missionary training days. Really cool. We then drove to Liverpool where we were to spend the evening. It was a bit interesting when we first got there because our professors told us about 3 times how much more dangerous, or 'rough' as they put it, Liverpool was than London. So, that meant we had to be sure to be in much larger groups. After checking into our hotel, again, we went out on the town. A lot of things closed in Liverpool early as well, but we were able to find a few things open, still. We went out to dinner at a little Italian place called Pesto and then we walked around, found another Tesco and then came back to the Hotel. Liverpool was cold, too! Imagine that. Jaynann and I just relaxed and talked quite a bit before heading to bed for the night. It was a good night.

Preston LDS Temple
After eating breakfast we headed out to go to The Beatles museum that was across the street in the Albert Dock area. The museum was SO COOL! I was able to see so much, and learn so much more about the Beatles. I saw some of their old guitars, some cool pictures and old record cases and clothes. Pretty cool. Also, John Lennon's old glasses were there. Who knew those glass were 14 karat gold? Pretty sweet. I got a shirt, and some more postcards. After leaving the museum I walked around the docks there. We went to a store where I found a shirt that said, "I [heart] Torres". I thought of SueZann and how much she loves him (He's a football player for Liverpool. Right?). So, I definitely got it for her. I also stopped at the maritime museum there where they had an exhibit about the Titanic and about Shackleton. One neat thing I learned about the Titanic that I didn't know before was about the musicians. The musicians started playing music to calm the passengers down when the boat started sinking. They stayed on and kept playing until the very end and none of them survived. The last song they played was "Nearer my God to Thee"... one of my favorite hymns. What a neat story. I have a lot of respect for those musicians. After exploring the Albert Docks we got back onto the coach and drove to Penny Lane and Strawberry fields. Yes, the very 'penny lane' and 'strawberry fields' that those Beatles songs are inspired by. Pretty cool.



Overall. The North was awesome. Cold. But, awesome. I had a lot of fun and wish I could go back... again... :)

Monday, January 24, 2011

London Bridge is falling down...

On Wednesday the 19th I did another walk by London Bridge/Tower Bridge. It was another beautiful sunny day. Walking across the bridge was awesome. The group of us got a nice jumping picture in front of the bridge. The walk was very beautiful and lots of fun. We leave for the North tomorrow. Party :)

"So if you care to find me, Look to the Western Sky"

Wicked = pure joy; bliss; happiness, amazing etc.

I really want to go again before I head home. Seriously, though.

So before Wicked a group of us went on another walk around London for our London walks class. This walk was called the "Southbank" walk. We walked along the south bank of the Thames starting on the backside of Parliament and Big Ben and then making our way down past the London eye. It was a beautiful sunny day. But a sunny day in January here means very cold. It was nice seeing the sun, that's for sure. We did have a great adventure and a fun run in with the police here. When we were walking down the south bank by Parliament a few police men stopped us saying that there was a suspect and that the pathway was shut down. One of the girls I was with thought the police officer said that someone had been shot down. So, she exclaimed, "Someone just got shot?!" kind of loud, and this guy next to us asked, "Did you just say someone got shot?!". We had to explain to him no we just heard it wrong. But it was super funny. We almost caused a huge fiasco! Haha.

The walk was beautiful.





After dinner we headed out to go to Wicked. I had been listening to the music all day long to prepare myself. When we got off the tube station the theatre was right outside and it was glowing GREEN. Actually, everything was green inside. Super cool. The set was beautiful. I bought myself a sweet program and a beautiful shirt. I was super excited. I seriously sat through the entire show with this ENORMOUS grin on my face. I couldn't stop smiling, I was just so happy to be there! The set was gorgeous, like I already said and the costumes were so fun and quirky. I loved them! Oh, Elpheba. She had the best voice ever. She was seriously phenomenal, wonderful, beautiful. I was just in love with her voice. The guy they had playing Fiyero was great. He had amazing hair. Dark and curly. He wore really tight clingy pants too often. But, I guess that's ok. Haha. The song right before intermission, "Defying Gravity", was amazing. I wanted to give them a standing ovation then, but I waited until the end. It was just so great. I was so happy to be there and I found myself too often mouthing the words to the songs. I'll admit it, there were parts that even made me cry.

I love Wicked. I want to see it again. Maybe I will. I should...



Wednesday, January 19, 2011

Mind the Gap

So, I decided I needed to catch everyone up before I take off on another long trip up North.

So this picture wouldn't let me move it anywhere else. But, this is me...
in front of some ancient Greek pottery.
Last Friday, the 14th we had a free day. Our classes are only Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays. Because of this free day a group of us went on another walk around London for our walks class that we are required to take while here. This walk was entitled the "Bloomsbury" walk. Basically we started at the British Museum and then walked in a giant circle and saw a bunch of neat things. First off, the British Museum is awesome! And it's free. Actually most of the museums in London are free. Pretty cool, huh? Anyway, I didn't get to spend very much time in the museum, unfortunately. Only about an hour and a half. But while there I got to see a bunch of cool exhibits about ancient Britain since that's what we are learning about in my history class. I saw a bunch of rusted swords, armor shields. Pretty neat things. One of the coolest things I got to see in the British medieval parts of the museum was a legit bog body. It was really awesome to see how the bog was able to preserve the body so well that the skin was still on it, and you could still tell that it was a body (not like a skeleton). It was pretty awesome. We also made a side trip to the Egyptian part of the museum and saw a bunch of mummies and sarcophagi. One of the cases that I saw had another really well preserved body. I guess back in the day when the Egyptians did not use to bury their dead in coffins they just buried them in the desert. Because the desert is so dry it preserved the bodies very well. This body still had it's hair on it. And it was thousands of years old! How crazy!! Also, I saw a mummified cat. We also went really fast into the Ancient Greece section and I saw a lot of beautiful pots and everything that were beautifully decorated. It reminded me of the things that my Greek and Roman mythology teacher used to show us. I seriously loved the museum. I didn't even make a dent in it either with the hour and a half that I was here. I definitely want to go back again.


Here's the bog body. His name is "Lindow Man"

Mummified Cats. I'm pretty sure my cat is too fat to look anything like that.

After our little stop at the British Museum we continued on our walk. Along the way we were able to see Charles Dickens' house and this really neat park where I met a new friend, Piper, the little white puppy. He reminded me of my dog Tink. Super adorable.  The walk was lots of fun and I got a lot of sweet pictures that you can check out on my facebook page, since it takes forever to upload pictures at my flat.

When we got back to our flat in Nottinghill me and my bunkmate, Jaynann had been discussing about going to an Audrey Hepburn film. For about a month this theatre here in London is playing Audrey Hepburn movies non stop! When we found out "My Fair Lady" was playing we both knew it would be amazing to see here in London. So we skipped dinner and headed out on the town to find this theatre. It ended up taking us forever to find it and we got lost a few times. But we finally made it and were only 10 minutes late to the movie, so we didn't miss much. The theatre was huge, the screen was big and I was just so happy to be there. I thought I had seen the movie before, but most of it I didn't even remember. But, I loved it! Audrey Hepburn is just wonderful and so BEAUTIFUL! Seriously, though.. Anyway, I found myself constantly thinking I was in an actual play, the atmosphere was just super cool. I don't have pictures of the night now... but I took a picture of the poster of Audrey Hepburn. 



Saturday a group of us went Shopping on Oxford street. Not the best idea. It was insane! London people LOVE to shop. So all the stores were cahrazy! But, I found a really cute necklace at Topshop and it makes me smile :) We also went to this restaurant called Nandos. It's this Portuguese chicken place. It was really good. I got a lemon and herb chicken breast pita with crisps (fries). Yum! Then we went home and I did homework (I know party!) and prepared my first primary lesson.

Church is wonderful here. I love it a lot. I think I'm going to love the kids I'm teaching. They found out I had some digestives with me, for my hour long tube ride home. So, I ended up sharing those with them. And one of them made me a paper flower. Super cute. I'll write a more detailed post about my ward and calling later.

Cheers, guys! :)

Monday, January 17, 2011

Who wants to go to Bath?!?

ME!!!

haha.

Sorry that it's been so long since I've blogged. Life is hectic, you know? Haha.

Anyway, I need to update you on the lo down. Sorry. This might be long!!

Wednesday the 12th of January our group did a little excursion to Salisbury, Stonehenge and Bath!

Basically best trip ever.

I woke up super early to have breakfast at 6:30 since our coach (bus) was coming to get us at 7:30. I ate super fast, ran upstairs and crammed my monster of a red purse full of snacks, homework, camera, batteries, memory cards. You name it, I probably had it in there. Like Marry Poppins' purse... or Hermoine Grangers. Anyway, I digress. After packing up, our group headed out and climbed into the coach. We drove for about 2 hours. I had been sleeping most of the way, since it was pitch black here until about 8:30ish in the morning. When I woke up I looked out the window and my mouth literally dropped open. The country side is so beautiful here. There were rolling, emerald green hills, little sheep everywhere. It was seriously so beautiful. I want to live here. Forever. Anyway, we got into Salisbury to stop at the beautiful cathedral. It was stunning and massive. We got to go on a tour inside of the different things in there. My favorite part was the beautiful and numerous stained glass windows. I also loved the baptistry. It had the prettiest reflection because the water was so still. It even had the cross on it from the oil when the Bishop of Canterbury dedicated (I don't know if that's the right word) it. I also loved the beautiful architecture inside, all the gothic arches and the gothic detail. The huge tower is actually slightly crooked and if you look up along the pillars you can see it leaning slightly to the left. Pretty neat. The Cathedral also had one of the 4 original 1215 Magna Carta. We got to go and see it. It was so.... beautiful. Kind of a weird word to describe it but it was amazing to see how neat the handwriting was. It looked like it was done on a computer. Super cool. Here's some pictures of the Cathedral:

Salisbury Cathedral
The bapitism font. If you look to the left you can see the cross from when the Bishop of Canterbury dedicated the font.
The Cloister on the inside of the Cathedral. So pretty.

In front of the Salisbury Cathedral. It's massive. That tower was the one I was referring to that leaned slightly. 
After leaving the Cathedral and Salisbury we headed back onto the coach for a 30 minutes ride to...

Stonehenge

Stonehenge is seriously so beautiful and awe-inspiring! It's amazing to just think about the size of those rocks, some of them weighing 40 tons. Each. We learned in my history class that what is standing today is actually the 3rd stage of the Stonehenge. There were other stages where wood was used, but we can't see it anymore. I also learned that we now know where the rock came from. Some of the rock (the blue stones) came from about 250 miles away in Wales. Pretty cool. Historians and archaeologists still do not know today how these rocks were moved and put into place and why they were. Just knowing this made actually being there so much neater. The site is just right off of the road and amidst rolling green hills and sheep pastures! It was raining when we first got there and basically pouring when we left. It was so pretty. Dad, I took some videos... but I don't know when I'll be able to post them. Maybe soon... ish? One thing that I was surprised of was how small the circle was. The stones are huge, but the length of the circle was a lot smaller than I imagined. Still. It was pretty awesome.





Stonehenge was literally so amazing. I had looked forward to seeing it someday and now I finally have. I'm very glad for it.

After Stonehenge we got back into the coach and took another hour long ride to Bath. Bath is home to the Roman baths that were built back when the Romans had conquered Britain. They are natural hotsprings with buildings built around them and water systems that make big bath rooms. It was really pretty to visit them. We also were able to visit the Assembly hall in Bath. My favorite room in the Assembly Hall was the ballroom. It reminded me of the dance hall that was used in the Kiera Knightley version of Pride and Prejudice. The chandeliers were gorgeous and reminded me of my Mom and her love for chandeliers. After visiting both the Assembly Hall and the Roman baths we had about an hour and a half to explore the city of Bath. I LOVE Bath. It's so cute and beautiful. I bought a new purse that was half off. Super cute. And I got a new shirt as well. It was a lot of fun to look around the town. Now when someone asks me where I bought my purse I can say, "Oh I got it in Bath!" Haha. Pretty Sweet. 

The main Roman bath
Another view of the large Roman bath.
One of the beautiful chandeliers in the Assembly Hall.
I was sad to say goodbye to Bath, but I had to, unfortunately. We had a 3 hour journey back to London on the coach. I mostly slept and read some of my book for my literature class. Lots of fun. This trip was so fun. I loved it so much. I am really looking forward to our next long outing. We have one this week actually. We leave Thursday and head up North to... Liverpool, Preston and somewhere else that I can't remember. Liverpool.... The Beatles? I'm down. 

 Also tomorrow we are going to WICKED!! I'm super excited and have just begun to go on a Wicked music fast. Should be fun.


I say french fries, you say chips-- part 1

Sooooo...

I've been thinking about doing one of these posts for awhile. I thought it would be interesting for some of those following my blog to read about some of the fun differences I've found here between London land and the US.



  1. Yield signs say "Give Way"
  2. People say 'cheers' to pretty much everything. I pay for my things at Tesco and the cashier says cheers when I leave. When I order my food the waiter says cheers. Pretty awesome.
  3. Tesco is a grocery store. Boots is a store with beauty supplies (similar to Walgreens). There are no stores like Walmart. You have to go to so many different stores to get the same stuff you could get at walmart etc.
  4. No one pays attention to the crosswalk lights. They cross the street whenever they want.
  5. There are dogs everywhere here and they are so well behaved! People just let them roam free in the huge parks.
  6. Every bathroom has a toilet brush so you can clean up after "soiling the toilet pan".
  7. Chocolate. So good.
  8. Digestives. Sounds gross. But, little do you know... they are oh so good. Imagine.... graham cracker, chocolate covered with caramel.
  9. The smallest paper money is a 5 pound note. Everything else is change. Pretty cool.
  10. McDonalds, Burger King and Pizza Hut are pretty well established places. The McDonalds down the street has glass vases with real flowers. Pretty crazy.
Anyway, I think I'm going to do these post in sets of 10. So when I have more, I will write more. I love England.

Wednesday, January 12, 2011

If I eat crepes like these as often as I want I'm going to get fat...

So here's the deal for the past couple of days:

Monday classes started. I had 2 of them. Literature and Creative Writing. Both are going to be so fun, but a lot of work! Lots of reading and writing. We got an assignment to go to the library here and grab some books to bring to the next class in order to aid our discussion on young adult literature. On the way back we found this hole in the wall pizza place. 1.50 pound for a 7'' pizza and 75 pence for a diet coke. So wonderfully good. Creative writing is going to be so fun. Basically we were turned lose to explore London in small groups with our writing journal. We would stop somewhere that looked interesting and write for 10 minutes, read what we wrote to the others in our group and then continue walking. We did that 3 different times. While doing this we went down Portebello road again. I saw George Orwell's home and we also found a cafe called Charlies that had killer hot chocolate. It tasted like heated up melted chocolate ice cream. Pure gold. I'm super excited for this class and doing these kind of writing excursions. Basically, this class will be so cool.

After class and dinner we went to Oxford street again and visited Liberty. Basically this huge, super expensive department store. I wanted to get this super cute planner... but it was 35 pounds! Crazy right? It was super tiny too. Anyway, it was cool to just look around. After that we took the tube to South Kensington and went to this killer crepe place . Seriously best crepe of my life! I got the summer fruits one. It had rasberries, blackberries, red and black currants, milk chocolate inside and outside and then fresh whipped cream. Yeah. It's as good as it sounds.



Tuesday was a little less eventful. Well, kinda. We have this class called our London walks class. Basically we have this good guide book that takes us on different walks around the city. We went on the City (East) walk around one of the oldest parts of the city. It was so pretty. We got off at tower hill tube station (around the Tower of London) and ventured throught the business parts of town. We saw many business men, in their business suits going to work. Saw the royal exchange and also where they do stock exchange stuff. We also saw a lot of cool churches. There were lots of alley ways and roads that reminded me of Diagon Alley from Harry Potter. So cool. Here are some pictures:

 Outside the Royal Exchange

In Guildhall Court

After the walks we had our history class, learned about the stone henge and then I did homework for the rest of the day. Pretty fun stuff. I'll write again about Stonehenge, Salisbury and Bath. Get excited.

The time I saw a creepy rocking chair in a play...

Hey everyone! I'm here at the lovely Burger King yet again to give you all an update on what has been going on in my life! Every Saturday we have pretty much the day to ourselves. The centre doesn't serve us food on Saturdays. So Saturday morning I met up with my new friend Lyse and we went to a bakery down Nottinghill road. I got a Danish and an almond croissant and I had my first cup of english tea. Peppermint and Strawberry. It was SOO good! :) Tea just tastes a lot better here... maybe because I'm in London... and drinking tea. Anyway, after we had our delicious breakfast we went in search for some sweet vintage store that was supposedly around where we were. While adventuring and trying to find this store we stumbled upon Portebello road... on a Saturday morning. It was just like a cool farmers market, but there were a lot more antique stores. Lyse and I found this stand that sold old print type from a printing press that they were selling. It was really awesome. Lyse and I then wandered around and found our way back to the centre. We met up with our other friend Heather (who is also my blogging buddy), and we decided we were going to go find this Indian restaurant that was in Lyse's "pretentious" guide book. We took the tube, got off and got lost trying to find it. We asked this guy for directions to Leman street, where the restaurant should be located. When we asked we asked for Lee man street. Haha. He then responded, "You mean Layman street?" Haha. Yeah, basically we were on it. Pretty sweet. We found the restaurant, but it was closed. So, we made our way back to the tube stop and headed to the theatre district because we were going to a show at 4 pm. We got there went to Pret a Manger, a french sandwich place basically and ate there. Then we ran to the Fortune theatre to see "The Woman in Black". Basically, it was this ghost story type play with only 3 actors in it. It was seriously so creepy. Many times people screamed out loud and jumped in their seats. So good. I never screamed, but I did get creeped out and may have jumped once... or twice. Ha. Basically there's this really creepy rocking chair that rocks back and forth by itself in it... with this creepy lullaby song playing. Ugh. Gives me the heebs even now thinking about it. Anyway, super fun day, super fun Saturday... even though it is now Wednesday when I'm posting this.

And now a picture of the outside of the fortune theater:
If any of you find yourself in London ever, I recommend seeing this play. It was awesome.

On a positive... ish note. Oliver just had it's last show, so we aren't going to that anymore. Instead we are going to.... wait for it....WICKED!!! I'm so excited. Next week baby!

Friday, January 7, 2011

Picture Post

Here is the pictures as promised! These pictures document what I have been up to for the past couple of days. Please enjoy the beauty that I have found here in London! I am so happy I am here and I'm having so much fun! 



Big Ben at night 

Tower of London

 London Bridge
The pet ravens they had at London Tower. Kinda weird, but cool I guess. According to Wikipedia there are always at least 6 ravens at the White Tower because if there aren't there is a belief that the Kingdon will fall. Pretty cool

 An exhibit in the White Tower. These horses were next to a suit of armor of different kings. The Horses were creepy. Just saying.
 Chapel within the White Tower
 Please notice the guy fawkes saying
 White Tower

 Big Ben during the gate right by the tube exit
 London Eye

 Westminster Abbey
 Me in front of Westminster Abbey


Inside Westminster Abbey... the cloister. Totally from a Harry Potter movie... pretty certain anyway.

We also went to see the crown jewels but weren't allowed to take any pictures. The jewels were enormous and super cool. They almost seemed like they were fake because they were so big. On the scepter there is the Star of Africa... I think that's what it's called anyway... and it's over a 3,000 carat diamond! How stellar is that. It was seriously huge and gorgeous! Going through all the crown jewels and talking to some of the guides there makes me want to brush up on my British Monarchy history. It's all super fascinating. I'll definitely be doing that the next couple of days.

I lied yesterday. Tomorrow we are going to see the guard change and also going to a play "The Woman in Black". It's supposed to be a scary play. I'm super excited to see it! 

Anyway, that's what has been going on. Loving everything so far. Soon I think I'm going to post something about my love for UK money and their coins and probably the tube. It's so easy to use! Anyway, over and out!